Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Romance Book Review: Anna J McIntyre's Coulson's Wife

Author: Anna J McIntyre
Series Connection: The Coulson's Series
ISBN: 978-1494244675
Genre: Romance, 1920s Historical Romance, American Historical Romance

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Purchase Link: Amazon

This compelling romance is definitely a deviation of my usual reading choice. The story begins in the early 1900s when when Mary Ellen is pushed into an arranged marriage with a wealthy businessman. When she first enters into the marriage she realizes she isn't in for a life that she had once imagined. While she isn't abused in her, she is forced to make her own happiness. Leaving her husband Randall is not an option, but over the years she does adapt and find love if not in the conventional way. 

This is the first in a several book series. The author says that some books are not necessary to read the previous books to read, however each seems to have it's own interesting mystery and tell the story of several generations of a powerful family. The final book takes place in modern day and goes back to a mystery that involves three generations of the family. 

I love how the author in Coulson's Wife handles the last decades of Mary Ellen's life and how she describes her family's life. Great story for those who like American Historical reads. 


The beginning of the Coulson Empire, 1918:

Mary Ellen's father didn't trade her for a house-exactly. Marrying the wealthy and handsome Randall Coulson is not something Mary Ellen wants to do, but being the obedient daughter she agrees to the marriage.

Randall Coulson wants Mary Ellen for one reason-to give him sons. He has no desire to form a bond of love or friendship with his young bride. His own heart is already taken.

A bittersweet story of love, lies and family secrets, taking place during a turbulent period of American history, when the perception of women and their role in society changed in one woman's lifetime.

Coulson's Wife (Book 1)
Coulson's Crucible (Book 2)
Coulson's Lessons (Book 3)
Coulson's Secret (Book 4)
Coulson's Reckoning (Book 5)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave Comments Here: